Types of Vegetarianism - Julie Green and Keen

Types of Vegetarianism

I was recently asked by a customer at the restaurant what the difference between a vegan and vegetarian was or if there was anything that differentiated them from each other.  I love when non-vegetarians come into the restaurant to try the food and have questions about my lifestyle.  I was more than happy to share with him the difference and information about the different kinds.



He was intrigued listening to the different kinds and what each limitation is.  I think I may have helped convert him to trying a vegetarian lifestyle.

I want to share with you the different kinds of vegetarians and how they differ.  Maybe you will want to try a lifestyle change.

Flexitarian is someone who has an almost entirely plant-based diet.  They work to limit meat intake as much as possible and try to substitute using plant based alternatives.  Although they are not considered a vegetarian, I commend their effort and so I had to put them on the list.

Pescetarian is also not considered a vegetarian but another step in the right direction, why I have them on the list.  Pescetarians restrict their meat consumption to fish and seafood only.  They do not eat red meat or fowl.

Yet another not quite vegetarian but worth putting on the list, Pollotarian.  These almost vegetarians restrict their meat to only poultry and fowl.  They do not consume red meat, fish, or seafood.

Lacto-Ovo Vegetarian’s do not eat any meats; red meat, white meat, fish, or fowl.  They do consume dairy and egg products.  This is the most common type of vegetarian because eggs and dairy are protein filled, it is easy to get the nutrients the body needs.

Similar to lacto-ovo vegetarians, Ovo Vegetarians do not consume any meats; red meat, white meat, fish, or fowl.  The aspect that differs them is that they also do not eat dairy products, but do consume egg products.

Lacto Vegetarians, the opposite of ovo vegetarians, do not eat meats like red meat, white meat, fish, fowl, or eggs.  They do consume dairy products like cheese, milk, and yogurt.

Vegans do not consume any animal product or by-product.  They do not eat meats, dairy, eggs, honey, gelatin, or any ingredients made with by-products of animals.  They also often do not use any products of animals like silk, leather, or wool.

I hope this list makes you more aware of all the different kinds of vegetarians or almost vegetarians and encourages you to try living a healthy life.

Go Green and Stay Keen,

Julie

No comments:

Post a Comment